NSW land tax, where to move in???

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Giancarlo, 21st Oct, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Giancarlo

Giancarlo New Member

Hello, I am relatively new in Australia and not too familiar with land tax and hope to find helpful insights here. We own 3 properties and want to move in 1 of 2 options and would like to know which is the best option from a tax perspective. A simple construction of our situation:
    Property A, land value 280k, owned by my wife (1 of the 2 options to move in)
    Property B, land value 742K, owned by my wife and me (1 of the 2 options to move in)
    Property C, land value 770k, owned by my wife and me (for renting out only)
    I work and pay income tax, my wife doesn't have work.
    From a tax perspective which would be a better option, A or B? Thank you very much

2. Lacrim

Lacrim Well-Known Member

At face value, you move in to the one with the higher land value ie option B...but there are a lot of considerations like rental return, plans to hold/sell the property etc etc

3. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

There is no indication of the state these are located in or their respective land tax liabilities.

4. Stoffo

Stoffo Well-Known Member

Assuming all are in NSW
    You could move into the one witb the higher land valuation, B, but as stated by @Lacrim

The biggest tax advantage via a PPOR is not having to pay CGT, so for this reason you should move into the property that will have the most growth in the next few years :D

But you also need to consider how much is owing on each, rental return, where you are currently residing, the 6 year rule, how this will affect your serviceability, future purchases.......

Time for some proper planning :eek:

5. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member