NSW Jury Duty

Discussion in 'Starting & Running a Business' started by Gockie, 1st Sep, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Gockie

Gockie Life is good ☺️ Premium Member

I was just reading, employers don't have to pay employees after the first 10 days of jury duty. What happens if jury duty goes on for a lot longer?

What employers need to know

2. geoffw

geoffw Moderator Staff Member

From days 11 onward the daily allowance for employed people goes from $106 per day to $240 per day.

I've been called up twice. Once was when I was a student at uni. My parents forwarded the notice but the PO did not forward jury notices. The second time I was employed by police and was exempt.

I wouldn't mind doing it now. I've worked with justice systems a lot of years, and I'm doing some study involving court procedures. I only went to a sitting court for the first ever time this year.

legallyblonde likes this.
  3. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

+1 has just been listed for a 3 month trial. Should be able to get out of it, she hopes.

4. Gockie

Now that is too long... I got listed for a 4 week one....

5. Marg4000

Marg4000 Well-Known Member

Good money though.

In Qld the daily rate goes up and up the longer the trial goes on. Friend was on a jury for a long trial, around 14 weeks. She was not at work, children grown. By the end of the trial (15+ years ago) she was earning close to $600 per week.
    Marg

6. geoffw

I'd suspect that's not great money for Gockie.

They give something towards reasonable transport costs on top of the allowance.

.You may not have to go in. There's something about calling the night before to check.
    .You may not be selected. Some people get challenged, some just don't make it to a jury.
    .if the length of a trial is a problem you can ask for a shorter trial. Your employer could possibly help you out there.

7. Gockie