NSW - How much to build a 3 or 4 pack?

Discussion in 'Development' started by C-mac, 13th Feb, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. C-mac

C-mac Well-Known Member

Hi folks,

Please excuse this daft/novice question - but I'm completely new to all things development and am just starting to do light research on things (think: back-of-the-envelope rough numbers spitballing, before getting the spreadsheets, Google, and phone calls going...).

Question is (and it is very much a 'how long is a piece of string question...): In NSW, roughly how much would i be looking at to draw up plans + fully build say 3 attached villas or townhouses on a long flat block. I.e. around 800-900sqm?

Each would have a LUG, could be single story or 2-story (keen to hear rough costs on this - which is cheaper most of the time?)

They'd be basic finishes only, no fancy ceasarstone bench tops, no HVAC etc.

Then the second question becomes: how much to build FOUR instead of three?

What I'm trying to get a feel for is the 'economies of scale' possible for a 4-pack as opposed to a 3-pack. I.e. if a 3-pack tends to cost around $250-$300K (just making that figure up as am example!), and adding a fourth unit would only add say another $50K on top due to economies of scale, I'm keen to hear any thoughts like that.

If it helps, I'm thinking of costings for the Newcastle region.

Also keen to hear how build costs for this type of project vary in other states too - so all thoughts and insights welcome!

Thank you!

2. DaveM

DaveM Well-Known Member

$1500/sqm is a good budget figure to work off for a 2 storey base build

3. Waldo

Waldo Well-Known Member

I doubt you'd have a significant cost saving per m2 by going from 3 to 4 builds. Needs to be much bigger than that to get any cost savings.

4. C-mac

C-mac Well-Known Member

Thanks for the feedback folks, much appreciated :)

5. 380

380 Well-Known Member

@C-mac

Allow Min $1500 per sq meter