NSW Foreign Owner Land Tax Surcharge

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by BenB, 5th Apr, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. BenB

BenB Member

Hi All,

My wife (UK Citizen on a spousal visa) and I (NZ Citizen with right to remain in Australia indefinitely on the special category visa) bought a house in 2013 as our PPOR. We applied for permanent residency this year as we have two Australian born kids and our life is here (we both work and pay plenty of taxes to the ATO, etc). Until 2016 there was no path for us to obtain PR as my skillset was not on the skills wanted listed (I work in finance), however I appreciate we should have jumped on the PR application sooner when Home Affairs provided a pathway for NZ'ers in 2016. The property is jointly owned and we have lived in it the whole time, renovating it as we go.

About a month after applying for PR my wife received a notice from NSW Revenue asking her to lodge in relation to our PPOR. Long story short, assessment comes back and she owes $58k according to NSW revenue. My question is: (i) whether there are any exemptions available to us; and (ii) is there anything that can be done to minimise liability going forward over the next 2-3 years while we wait for PR to be approved (current wait time is 29 months for 75% for 75% of applications apparently). Looks like we would risk stamp duty and/ or CGT if we changed to tenants in common with proportions changed.

My other questions is whether there any time limitations on NSW Revenue making an assessment. We weren't aware of the legislative change (poor excuse perhaps), my wife never received any prior assessments or requests to lodge in relation to the property (we would have clearly expedited the PR if she had), so five years worth of back taxes seems very punitive.