Not Sure About Serviceability Status

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Glip, 30th Dec, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Glip

Glip Member

Hi all,

My wife and I are in our mid-thirties, don't have kids, and are lucky in that we had help early on from family to purchase our first home. After chipping away at the mortgage as much as we could, we're quite close to paying it off completely, and we want to use our equity to start an investment property portfolio (it took us a while to realise how important it is!).

Maybe I'm being paranoid, but I'm unsure whether we need to wait a bit longer before approaching a broker because of our employment history. I don't really want to engage one if it will just waste their time.. I've had a reasonably well-paid full time job for 18 months, but in the decade or so before that I was a freelancer, with all the financial ups and downs that comes with being a sole trader. My wife, on the other hand, had consistent full time employment up until about 12 months ago. She now works on a contract-by-contract basis, though she's managed to have consistent work since making the switch.

In the experience of the members here, would a lender probably want to see a more consistent and stable employment history before taking us seriously? Should we wait another 12 months? Or would the fact that we've got the equity and a good credit history be sufficient?

Many thanks in advance for any thoughts/advice!

2. Shahin_Afarin

Shahin_Afarin Residential and Commercial Broker Business Member

Depending on your strategy and how disciplined you are with money it may be a better idea to not pay down your mortgage.

A common strategy amongst investors is to pay interest only and accumulate the principle payments in an offset to use for subsequent investments.