Noob, debt recycling

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by DCkt, 19th May, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. DCkt

DCkt New Member

Hi,

I Am a new member but been reading around for few months now and learning a lot;). I am a house wife and full time student. I have been investing in share market for 3 years but still learning. My goal would be to accumulate enough money so we can live off of income from our investment, both of us are in early 30.
    I am interested in debt recycling since my partner and I own PPOR and have some equity available in it. At first we thinking paying it off faster but maybe not good idea since we are going to turn it into an ip in few years time.
    The PPOR under both name but investment under my name then if we borrow money to invest under my name from PPOR loan (debt recycling) would half of it be deductible for my partner income? or should we make joint account to invest so half can be deducted?
    Sorry if I ask too much in my first post :oops:

Thank you :)

2. Property Twins

Property Twins Mortgage Brokers & Buyers Agents Business Member

Sounds like you are after specific tax & credit advice.

3. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

If you set things up right the owner of the shares can claim all of the interest even though the loan may be in a different name. Speak to your tax lawyer or tax agent.

4. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

Hiya DC

Does your loan product support an active/managed debt recycle process ?

have you modeled the outcomes of an effective DR strategy and how that would affect your capacity to later upgrade(?) into another PPOR ?

ta

rolf

5. DCkt

DCkt New Member

Thank you both @Property Twins and @Terry_w for your replay,