non-resident for tax purposes

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by BlackMirror2000, 19th Feb, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. BlackMirror2000

BlackMirror2000 Member

*Copied from intro thread*
    Hello all,
    Newbie here!
    My wife and I moved to Singapore 2 years ago to follow career opportunities. Now we're considered "non-resident for tax purposes".
    We have PPOR in NSW which we're trying to sell now. You've guessed it... we didn't prepare anything or know to have prepared anything before we relocated.
    • Yes, we rented our PPOR out when we moved out.
    • Bought it it June 2012.
    • Moved to Singapore in March 2015.
    What the heck is going to happen to us now in terms of CGT as "non-resi"? Are we still exempt from it if we refund depreciation claims? Quite confused and tired to be honest from reading all the new laws coming up from left right and centre.
    By the way, we've applied for "variation certificate" to get 12.5% waived as foreigners. We gathered this is the right thing to do.

Thanks in advance for your help.

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

The law still hasn't passed. Get some proper advice.

3. Mike A

Mike A Well-Known Member

The first question is are you a resident or not ?

How can you have a PPOR in australia if you are non resident. That would mean residency.

Maybe you mean it was your PPOR

4. Ross Forrester

Ross Forrester Well-Known Member

I think you have the horse before the cart. Try and see if you are resident, consider the time you change residency and consider the tax profile of each asset and your strategy to dispose of the asset in connection with your future asset profile in and out if Australia.

Once that is in hand you can take a view on current and proposed tax laws.