Non resident buying property perth

Discussion in 'Legal Issues' started by Geodude17, 1st Apr, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Geodude17

Geodude17 New Member

Hello all,

Need some advice/clarification on a potential issue.
    I’m a currently a non resident (UK citizen), visa is currently going through to attain PR. I am currently living in Perth and looking to buy a house with my girlfriend/soon to be fiancé (aus resident).

For tax reasons, as a non resident my name wouldn’t be on the property but obviously I would be providing money for the purchase of the house and the mortgage thereafter.

What rights do I have in terms of recouping my investment into the the property, in case something does happen and we have to sell the property?

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

who would be the owner? Spouse? If you provide the money for the settlement you would have a beneficial interest in the property and could make a claim under family law and trust law in the future if things go wrong but mortgagee will take priority.

thatbum likes this.
  3. Geodude17

Geodude17 New Member

Hello, thanks for your response. Yes on paper the owner would be my partner. Is it worth getting law advice on the subject?

4. Terry_w

that may be a good idea as not being an owner you could wake one day to find the property has been sold, leased, bequeathed or mortgaged without your consent or even knowledge

5. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

You might also need to seek FIRB approval.

6. tomerayz

tomerayz Well-Known Member

no need to seek FIRB approval, they aren’t on the mortgage or title. We did this exact thing while I was on an 820 visa waiting for my PR to come through so we bought in my partners name. Once PR came through, we contacted out conveyancer who did the paperwork & added me to the title without me paying stamp duty as we’re de facto.

7. Terry_w