Non resident Australian seeking finance

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Munga, 24th Feb, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Munga

Munga Well-Known Member

Hi All
    I am a non resident Australian currently living and working overseas on a yacht.
    I have just purchased an investment property on the Gold Coast and have paid the deposit.
    There was one other bidder involved and to get it over the line, I offered unconditional .
    I was confident in my ability to get financing as I have cash reserves and a reasonable income.
    It has been one month now and the banks I have tried with are struggling with various things, namely accepting that I don't have any living expenses and am not a tax resident anywhere. Settlement is in one month and with a 10% deposit on the line , I am getting decidedly nervous.
    The purchase price is 1,250,000. A 5br house.
    I currently have applications with 3 banks .
    One bank is concerned about my lack of living expenses.
    The other 2 keep requesting more and more docs which is really slowing the process down.
    Any of you guys out there had anything similar ?
    Any advice from brokers, bankers or other investors would be greatly appreciated.
    I have posted this in both sub forums as I was sure which was best .
    Thank you all.

2. tobe

tobe Well-Known Member

No living expenses and not a tax resident anywhere....

Your going to struggle.

You do have living expenses, unless your a breatharian. Or are you just eating fish you catch? No lemons?

If you don't lodge tax returns anywhere it's going to be hard.

Lenders need to see how much you earn, and if your self employed, that's tax returns.

There might be some 'private' lenders, or loan sharks that need a return on the cash they haven't declared in their tax returns that might help?

3. tobe

tobe Well-Known Member