Non paying tenant eviction

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by Fabs90, 17th Jun, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Fabs90

Fabs90 Well-Known Member

Hi all,

I have an IP in Melbourne and that I have been managing myself for the past 10 years without any problem.
    I have a new tenant (lease started 6 months ago) Screening during the application went well. No black listed, no bankruptcy, no defaults. For the last 2 months tenant was late and now they don't answer emails or SMS or calls to say they will make an effort to pay.

I called the employer (owner of Carpet Call) and he said he does not recomend the tenant anymore as he left his previous rental property unpaid (tenant was renting from an employer's relative)
    6 months ago employer gave me good references and was with him for 3 years.

There are defaults in services as well soon after they occupied the property. Appears that they kept everything clean just to secure a place and then they started to default on everything.

In few days I can send them a notice to vacate (14 days in arrears VIC) and will apply for possession as there are many defaults (previous landlord, current landlord, services) and I don't trust these tenants anymore and I want them out.

The problem is that during these 6 months they had a new baby (2 to 3 months old)
    How VCAT will deal with this?
    I personally lost my job, I rent where I live and I have to pay the mortgage for the IP. Will the tribunal put tenant needs on top of my needs? I cannot afford paying free accommodation for strangers. I cannot receive Centerlink assistance because I own an IP. But it is taken by these people!!!

In addition, I had an inspection done last week and they brought an unauthorised dog. I was told this dog belongs to the tenant's brother who is moving from Bendigo to Melbourne. So, there is family from both sides of the couple where they can stay.

Any thought or advice?