Next Steps

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Trees86, 20th Nov, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Trees86

Trees86 New Member

Hi, I am relatively new to property investing and have started to take a more serious interest in it over the last six months. We currently have 3 investment properties (all in regional Victoria) and rent in Melbourne. All three properties are positively geared and on P and I loans
    A) $304K owing valued $450K Rental income: $18,720 p.a
    B) $344K owing valued $380K Rental income: $28,080 p.a
    C) $115K owing valued $260K Rental income: $11,960 p.a

My wife works full time, while I work part time and look after our young children. We are in our early 30's (31 and 32) and have no plans to stop working before 60 as we enjoy our work. We currently have around $2000 a month in extra cash each month and are trying to work out what the next steps should be for us? I

I do see us renting for probably the next 3-5 years as we will be moving around, but after that we would like to buy a house to live in. Should we be trying to to purchase another 2-3 houses in regional areas over the next 5 years, purchase a more expensive house closer to a city or keep paying down the principal on our existing loans?

Any ideas or tips would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

2. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

I think you first need to understand what you can actually afford. This will help figure out the paths that are available to you. See a broker who can look at different options for you and do some planning based on that.