Newbie seeking some basic property advice

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by TazCaz, 24th Jun, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. TazCaz

TazCaz Well-Known Member

Hello,

I am VERY new to the property market as a solo purchaser and don't have any knowledgable friends or family to ask for advice (and finding online information incredibly confusing), so please be kind...

I'm currently living in Melbourne and looking to buy a property in my home state of Tasmania. I'm trying to decide if I should buy an investment, or move back home for a while, get an owner-occupier loan and then rent out/airbnb after about 1-2 years of living in the property (I'd be looking to move overseas at that point).

Initial consults with my broker show my borrowing power is higher on an owner-occupier loan (around $430K v $530K if I can find a job down there on the same salary I'm on here). I am not eligible for the FHOG (I bought a property with a partner about 13 years ago in NSW that we ended up selling when we broke up). For an investment, the rental return I'm looking at would be around $300 pw. If I bought an investment, I would need to be renting elsewhere (as opposed to living at home with family), though in a couple of years, I imagine I will be overseas, as mentioned.

I'm looking for either help on this forum or some links to super easy-to-understand information that I can research myself on the below.