Newbie migrant from Sydney

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Property Investor1, 24th Jul, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Property Investor1

Property Investor1 Member

Hi All,

I just completed 3 years in Australia after migrating from India. I am 41 with wife and 2 kids. My family income is around $140K per annum and have savings of around $60K. I am currently renting and wish to start my property investing journey. I am a total novice in the property market in Australia.

I currently do not have any property in Australia, but I would like to know from all the experienced property investors out there if I can buy my first investment property with initial capital of around $50-60K? It may take a few years if I try to save for a 20% deposit and doing that stops me from getting a foothold in the property market.

The idea is to buy properties with positive cash flow which has a very good potential of capital growth and the goal is to have a passive income of around $150K per annum in the short term of around 5-7 years.

I would like some suggestions on where to start keeping the above background in mind. I was also thinking if hiring the services of a good buyers agent would help me get started since I don't know anyone who is trusted an reliable i.e. a mortgage broker, tax accountant, property manager, solicitor etc.

Also, if it makes good financial decision to first buy PPOR rather than buying my first investment property. Some of the questions come to my mind are if I buy apartment as PPOR, then it may cost me around 600-700K in Sydney in a good suburb where there are good public schools (suggestions welcome on the suburbs to consider which has good schools in Sydney). But then this may exhaust my serviceability and not allow me to buy any further investment properties unless my income increases.