Newbie Development Questions

Discussion in 'Development' started by mike8t1, 20th Aug, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. mike8t1

mike8t1 Active Member

Hi All,
    I have a strong desire to develop as part of my investing journey. I have been investing in Resi housing for the last 9 yrs and have acquired 10 properties in that time, mostly in metro Sydney and Brisbane. I have been reading books and doing various courses, so i am slowly learning but want more knowledge before taking the leap. My questions:
    • When looking for sites, are we to scour council zoning maps for the medium density locations or can we apply to council to have the site's zoning changed?
    • I realise that often, due diligence clauses are put on contracts. How often are contracts exchanged without full D/D being completed?
    • For those who have done small development, What is the most important thing for a beginner to learn?
    These are just some things i could think of right now but i will no doubt be posing more questions to follow up.

Experiences and opinions welcome.

Thanks,
    Michael

2. Sackie

Sackie Well-Known Member

HI Mike81,

I'm no expert on this topic mate but this is how I have been approaching it.

• When looking for sites, are we to scour council zoning maps for the medium density locations or can we apply to council to have the site's zoning changed?
    When I look for sites, first i choose the area I wish to develop in and then investigate what development opportunities are there in the area. Zoning maps can be useful and usually the council websites have a heap of information on this. I also try to have a good idea of my finance situation so I know roughly what size developments I can actually take through to the end if that's my goal.

• I realise that often, due diligence clauses are put on contracts. How often are contracts exchanged without full D/D being completed?