QLD New to the scene / Where to buy QLD.

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Daniel Wood, 14th Feb, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Daniel Wood

Daniel Wood Member

Hey All

Been lurking a bit here, seen some great threads, thought I'd ask a few questions.

Firstly a bit about me, I'm new to this I'm wanting a long term IP to buy equity to buy another and then another and so on. So here goes, I'm 30, I earn $110k p/a including super, after all bills etc I have around $500 a fortnight to play.

I'm pre approved for a loan of 230k, now I'm looking at you QLD. Wondering where to buy, Eagleby, Upper Mount Gravatt area (maybe). I've look around, there's some really nice, modern newish Townhouses in my price range (and lower). I've seen mixed reports on the area (old data however), I personally see a potential growth in the near future.. Any tips on location would be appreciated.

I've enquired about one townhouse that looks easy to look after maintenance wise and in a place I think will grow. However the rates are a killer IMO. The median rent is around $330 p/w, Strata is $650 p/q and Council Rates approx $950 p/q (Strata and Council rates from the Complex Caretaker..)

Lets say my repayments are $289 p/w so, some simple calculations

Rent - Repayment
    $330 - $289 = $41

Strata + Council
    $54.17 + 79.18 = $133.35

$-92.35 out of my pocket per week, this isn't including insurances and any other fees

As a total newbie to the scene, is this normal? I was under the assumption my rent should be covering all rates/fees or is this just wishful thinking? I'm obviously wanting to grow my portfolio, should I focus on Apartments/Units? (I've also found a few that are candidates).

Any suggestions / tips would be amazing!

Cheers
    Dan

2. Propertunity

Propertunity Well-Known Member

This seems high. How many townhouses in the complex please?

3. Daniel Wood

Daniel Wood Member

Hi Alan