New to propertychat, 24 years old, need advice

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by GreaterRegional12, 5th Apr, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. GreaterRegional12

GreaterRegional12 Member

Hello

I am hoping to get some advice from some of you more experienced users on this forum.

My background:
    -24 years old, come from a poor family, limited to no experience in property, finances, etc.
    -I have a considerable amount of money saved in the bank (between $150K - $200K). Been saving as a kid, working my backside off since graduating with f/t work and casual work on weekends. Low expenses ($75-100wk for board with parents).
    -I do not gamble, smoke, drink or do drugs at all. Waste of money.
    -I have no knowledge at all about any of the advanced lingo / terms with property, and I have only just started browsing the MoneySmart government website to understand what different terms mean, how people invest and grow money, etc.
    -My only experience in "investing" if you can call it that is: (1) saving money by working; and (2) putting it into a term deposit

My goal:
    -I want to be financially independent and life a comfortable life.
    -I want to own a property. Preferably a residential one. not sure if IPs are a good thing or not.
    -My dream is to buy a house in a really well-off area hopefully without a mortgage some day (the feeling of having to make constant repayments scares me and makes me very anxious)

My questions
    -Apart from telling me to seek independent financial advice (which I am hoping to do some time in the future), what do you think I should do to achieve my goals?
    -I have been thinking of getting an investment property. Is this worth it? How do I go about it? What returns can I expect?
    -Is getting into stocks worth it? Again, just looking for as much general info as possible.