New to Property Chat & new to real estate investing, sussing out strata tittle office spaces.

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by some-guy, 29th Oct, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. some-guy

some-guy Member

I am very new to property investment, I own the property I live in as well as a couple of ETFS. I was considering taking on a small and cheap strata tiled office as an investment. I'm not specifically aiming to purchase the property's I have listed below. I've just included them as an example of what I'm considering. My questions are:

Is a 12 or 24 month lease a deal breaker in the commercial real estate investing world?
    Are these types of property's worth while, or should I really just stick to REITS?
    Overall do you think any of the properties I have listed below could present a good investment opportunity?

1019/1 Queens Rd, Melbourne, VIC 3004 - Office For Sale - realcommercial

Suite 519, 1 Queens Road, Melbourne, VIC 3004 - Office For Sale - realcommercial

620/1 Queens Rd, Melbourne, VIC 3004 - Office For Sale - realcommercial

808/1 Queens Road, Melbourne, VIC 3000 - Office For Sale - realcommercial

2. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

The first red flag, without even clicking on the links, is that there are 4 suites in the same building up for sale. How will this be when it comes to leasing & vacancies?

Brady likes this.
  3. Momentum

Momentum Well-Known Member

If your budget is only 50-100k then you'd be better off sticking it into a REIT and doing without the hassles of ownership.

Jess Peletier likes this.
  4. Jess Peletier

Jess Peletier Mortgage Broker & Finance Strategy, Aus Wide! Business Member

What's the vacancy rate like for those types of properties?

What's attracted you to these?

Commercial INV is a bit more complex than resi, - do you have someone helping you, or are you winging it?

5. some-guy

some-guy Member