New to Passive Investing - Interested in ETFs, LICs and help with choice paralysis!!!!

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by @FruitCake@, 28th Jan, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. @FruitCake@

@FruitCake@ Well-Known Member

Hey guys, I'm very new to the world of passive investing and I was thinking of throwing a few $ into a Vanguard ETF and an LIC like AFI or Argo. Honestly my head is currently spinning with all of the options out there and with the new diversified ETFs released by Vanguard last year, it has added even more to my anxiety lol. I have finally settled between the following two portfolios and was wondering if you guys might be able to help me decide on which to go with.

A little about me, I am in my early 30s, have just paid off the PPOR in full and is basically just looking for a set and forget vehicle to park my pay that will give me a bit more than a HISA. I plan to hold for at least 20 - 30 years, with re-balancing only done through addition to avoid any CGT events. Each parcel I purchase will be >$5000 with a max of 12 purchases per year (or once a month) to minimise brokerage.

Note that the portfolios will be balanced to achieve the following market allocations 35-40% in Aus and 60 - 65 % in International. As I am still young, I'm going for a balance between growth and income (hence the relatively high allocation to the Aus market - yes I have home bias sickness, maybe).

Portfolio 1
    VDHG (as the Core ETF)
    VGS
    VAE
    AFI/ARG/MLT

Pros: First parcel of VDHG will offer me instant diversification and access to International Small Caps which I believe is wholesale only? VAE will give access to the Asian markets particularly Korea which I noticed was missing in VDHG. The Aus LICs are to add a small active component and for smoother dividend payouts with VGS to re-balance the portfolio to achieve my intended International exposure.