New Three Townhouse Development - Advice on External Finishes and Overall Aesthetic

Discussion in 'Development' started by Dapa, 10th Aug, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Dapa

Dapa Active Member

Hi,

I'm just beginning work on a mid-range three townhouse development in NSW. I'm looking for people's thoughts on ground floor wall construction methods and I've attached a few elevations to help. I'm working with the builder who built my last development and he prefers to build using cladding rather than face brick. I can see the benefit here as he doesn't need to bring in trades, ultimately I want a cost effective build that is robust, low maintenance and appealing to buyers. As I see it for the ground floor I can use:

i) Hebel / Besser blockwork rendered
    ii) Facebrick
    iii) Common brick rendered
    iv) Contemporary cladding (large CF sheet as opposed to weatherboards). Considering something like 18mm thick CF sheet which withstands buyer knock test for solidity.

My preference is contemporary cladding however would I be wrong in thinking this is any less expensive than rendered blockwork? Is face brick the most expensive?

I've attached a few early exterior shots, I'm not in love with them, too many angles going on. What are other peoples thoughts?

I'm going for clean, contemporary, modern, low maintenance. The units are one block from the beach and unit one should capture NE breezes and water glimpses. The timber cladding again I am not a fan off, would appreciate people's views on using that or an alternative.

Cheers
    Dave

Attached Files:

2. Westminster

Westminster Tigress at Tiger Developments Business Member

v) rendered blue board.
    vi) metal cladding