New H&L vs Second hand buy vs established property in NW Sydney

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by ms420, 27th May, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. ms420

ms420 Well-Known Member

Hi all,

I would like to get some thoughts on pros and cons of buying a H&L from the developer directly vs buying H&L second hand from a seller (OO or Investor) va buying an established property.

New H&L:
    - You may have seen many ads and emails from developers like Allam announcing big discounts (up to 100k) on newly constructed H&Ls. Allam being a reputed quality developer I am thinking of them when I think H&L.
    - Can anyone please share some insights into buying from developer such as Allam, what are things to be aware of, negotiation points, any further discounts that can be discussed, quality of construction and warranty inclusions and exclusions.
    - There May be benefit of depreciation- does this only apply to Investors only (I am guessing so)

Second hand H&L:
    - For this I am thinking buying from an owner occupied or investor looking to getting out due to financial situation and where the property was built in the last 5 years. Here there may be some room for negotiation but the property is no longer new.
    - Something might be wrong with property which may be covered up and sold

Established property:
    - Some propchat members have previously commented that older homes tend to be stronger/ better build than new H&Ls. While I can think roofs of new H&Ls being damaged in hailstorm 2 years ago, I can’t think of anything else. On the contrary, old homes may have defective or run down plumbing or electrical issues.

Appreciate you thoughts on buying/ comparing above types of properties. Many thanks.

2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

You already know what you want. You just want something to support that.

qak and Car tart like this.
  3. Paul@PAS