Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community

Negotiate the price when you buy the property, any suggestions?

Discussion in 'The Buying & Selling Process' started by paper, 20th Aug, 2015.

1. paper

paper Well-Known Member

Anyone have any experience to share how they can negotiate the price in a win win situation?

I am not good at all. Once the agent suggested the price is over $$$, he indicated he would not accept any price lower than that figure. In the next day, he phoned me again and asked me to put an offer. After he got the answer, he told me off.:(

2. FireDragon

FireDragon Well-Known Member

Tekoz likes this.
  3. HUGH72

HUGH72 Well-Known Member

Easy, don't put up with any BS.
    Tell him" I was considering stretching my budget and making another offer. But considering how rude and unprofessional you have been I am no longer interested.":)

ej89 and York like this.
  4. Chilliblue

Chilliblue Well-Known Member

Some agents do not care and have little professionalism. Sometimes it can help that you give examples of similar properties that have sold recently that support your offer.

If the agent continues to belligerent then make the formal written offer to the vendors solicitor. Best of luck.

5. Perthguy

Perthguy Well-Known Member

Don't worry about it. It's just business, not personal. I once put in an offer so low that the agent called me up and yelled at me down the phone. I did get a bit upset at the time and almost hung up on him but I just took a big breath, calmed myself down and explained the reason behind my price. He calmed down too and took the time to understand the reasoning behind the price so he could explain it to his vendor. Well, in my case I was a bit cheeky. The property had originally been on the market for $549,000 and my first offer was $440,000 :p

ej89 and Hwangers like this.
  6. 2FAST4U

2FAST4U Well-Known Member

What was the asking price and what was your offer?

7. Leo2413