Negative gearing in SMSF?

Discussion in 'Superannuation, SMSF & Personal Insurance' started by No_Limits, 30th Sep, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. No_Limits

No_Limits Well-Known Member

I am new to looking at SMSFs. I have read two conflicting versions of negative gearing an IP within an SMSF. One version says you can do it, it looks like this:

Rental income: $30k
    Contributions received: $10k
    Total: $40k
    Less:
    Interest: $30k
    Other expenses: $10k
    Net taxable income SMSF: $0

In other words, the IP would have lost $10k, so you contribute $10k (pre-tax from salary). This makes it equivalent to negative gearing in your own name. They say 'contribution tax' of 15% is misleading terminology, it's not a tax on contributions but rather a tax on the income of the fund (which in this case is zero).

The other version says losses on the IP could only be offset by other income from investments, not from contributions.

2. Ross Forrester

Ross Forrester Well-Known Member

You can offset the loss from any type of taxable income including concessional contributions.

This assumes it is not in pension mode.

No_Limits likes this.
  3. tedjamvor

tedjamvor Well-Known Member

In theory I can't see why you can't negative gear in a SMSF. It's such a low tax environment I'm not sure it's entirely worth it to pursue intentionally. Also in your example you seem to be confusing assets and income and I'm not sure it makes sense, doesn't to my untrained eye.

Are contributions taken into consideration for net income? Or is the income generated from the investment of the contributions?

4. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member

Negative gearing in a smsf is very ineffective due to the low tax rate of 0, 10 or 15%. On a $10K tax loss you will consume and lose the $10K of contributions all for a $1500 tax saving. Its a net $8500 loss.