Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community

Need new Antenna connection?

Discussion in 'Repairs & Maintenance' started by kimba88, 6th Oct, 2015.

  1. kimba88

    kimba88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    25th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    104
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hi,

    Probably a very noob question, but i need some advice.

    My PM has messaged me saying my tenant has been using Foxtel but advises there is no antenna connection in the roof to the antenna (when Foxtel was installed for him when he moved in, he said the connection was not there).

    What exactly does this require and how much would a job like that cost? I'm up for suggestions. Is this a simple handyman job or will i need a professional?

    Thanks :)
     
  2. Propertunity

    Propertunity Exclusive Real Estate Buyers Agent Business Member

    Joined:
    19th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    1,224
    Location:
    NSW
    It's a job for a professional. Probably around $500-600 to install on a single storey house roof with one point inside.
     
  3. kimba88

    kimba88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    25th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    104
    Location:
    Sydney
    Oh wow, that's a lot more than i was expecting. I thought it would just be a simple connection. By the sounds of it, it doesn't affect normal tv, only some foxtel.. or would it be all foxtel? I can't understand why my tenant would be paying for foxtel, but can't use it :-/
     
    Gingin likes this.
  4. Propertunity

    Propertunity Exclusive Real Estate Buyers Agent Business Member

    Joined:
    19th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    1,224
    Location:
    NSW
    I misunderstood your original Q. Seems like a case of a missing cable from the dish to the point inside. Seems a bit odd. I'd ask Foxtel or get the tenant to.
     
  5. kimba88

    kimba88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    25th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    104
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah it does seem a little odd. I'm not even sure my property manager knows exactly what's going on, but i think i'll get her to just get some quotes. I only wanted to avoid this if this was a simple quick fix i could carry out myself.
     
  6. Scott No Mates

    Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    5,544
    Location:
    Sydney or NSW or Australia
    Who arranged for Foxtel? Was it you/pm or the tenant? If you did - your problem. Was it there before the tenant moved in?
     
  7. kimba88

    kimba88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    25th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    104
    Location:
    Sydney
    I think the tenant had it installed when he first moved in or something. He has been in the house over a year now.. but i'm wondering if it might be a separate connection for another tv in the house for his kid to watch (not the main connection with foxtel). Not 100% sure on the story, so probably best to get quotes anyway.
     
  8. Scott No Mates

    Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    5,544
    Location:
    Sydney or NSW or Australia
    Not your problem @kimba88

    If the normal aerial point works in both rooms then your cabling is fine.
     
  9. kimba88

    kimba88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    25th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    104
    Location:
    Sydney
    It may be a matter of the aerial point working in one room and not the other. That's my guess. But i suppose if i get a quote i will find out the full story, then can decide if i should go ahead and fix it up if it is my problem
     
  10. Richard Williams

    Richard Williams Buyers Agent - Southeast QLD Business Member

    Joined:
    9th Aug, 2015
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    Loganholme, Brisbane
    Confusing post, the normal free to air is not working? Or the Foxtel? Sometimes Foxtel in the city gives you the free to air via the foxtel, in rural area's your regular free to air connects into the back of the foxtel/(austar) box.

    Where is the IP located?

    PM's dont usually understand issues like this, they just say we can send the antanne man around to check... :eek::eek::eek:
     
  11. E.T

    E.T Active Member

    Joined:
    11th Jul, 2015
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    Earth for now
    I could fix this with the following

    Rubbish lid
    Fishing line
    Old radio
    Some branches
     
  12. kimba88

    kimba88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    25th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    104
    Location:
    Sydney
    It is a confusing post as i didn't have enough information at the time i guess. My PM has now got a quote for the problem.
    So basically the problem is:

    "In order for the tenant to retain their foxtel and also receive free to air, the following is required: Supply and install new internal tv outlets (quote for 2 main living and bedroom $120 per outlet). Supply and install 1 masthead amplifier and power supply to boost signal to all outlets $109 for the amplifier (the signal distribution weakens if more outlets are used). Test tune and balanced upgraded system"
    TOTAL: $349 inc GST

    So my PM has had a conversation with the people who quoted and what she can gather is that the foxtel is using the only outlet in the house. So if they want both foxtel and free to air, i will need another outlet and amplifier. My PM thinks the tenants should pay or contribute to the costs.

    What does everyone think of the quote and do you agree with the PM or should i do a gesture of goodwill as i have a relatively good tenant? Any help is appreciated.

    Thanks :)
     
  13. wylie

    wylie Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,922
    Location:
    Brisbane
    We get free to air via the Foxtel box. Isnt that normal?
     
  14. Richard Williams

    Richard Williams Buyers Agent - Southeast QLD Business Member

    Joined:
    9th Aug, 2015
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    Loganholme, Brisbane
    I would think that normally there is a foxtel connection and a free to air connection point in the living room, if there is and the tenants have access to free to air then that is sufficient - unless you want to spend the extra to put points in the bedrooms...

    Where is the IP located? If it is not within driving distance for you then I would ask for the phone number of the tenants and ask what the problem is and what they want. Second hand info from the PM via the tv guy?? I'd call the tenant.
     
  15. kimba88

    kimba88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    25th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    104
    Location:
    Sydney
    Apparently it's only the one connection point.. only allowing either free to air or foxtel.

    The IP is around the Penrith area
     
  16. Richard Williams

    Richard Williams Buyers Agent - Southeast QLD Business Member

    Joined:
    9th Aug, 2015
    Posts:
    471
    Location:
    Loganholme, Brisbane
    Never heard of the same connection for foxtel and free to air... they are a different signal.
     
  17. Davothegreat

    Davothegreat Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    20th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    253
    Location:
    Sydney
    So what was that quote, $349 to install 4 points with a distribution amplifier?

    To do this job yourself you'll need the following (prices are approximate wholesale):

    A 1 in, 4 out masthead/distribution amplifier - $70.
    A 100m roll of RG6 quad shielded cable will cost around $50.
    Compression crimping tool - $20
    RG6 stripping tool - $15
    F type compression crimps - $0.85 each - you'll have at least 5 cables not including any new fly leads you decide to make so there's minimum 10 crimps.
    Wall plates with either F type or F -> PAL keystones are around $5 each. Or you can use entry boxes that mount on the skirting if entering from under the floor.

    So that's just shy of $200 in materials and tools, if you're willing and able to do the job yourself. Otherwise, $349 looks like a pretty reasonable price to me.

    Disclaimer - I'm not an antenna installer but I did do this exact job to my PPOR and my in-laws' place a few years ago. Conveniently, I knew a licensed cabler from work who was able to show me how to go about making the crimps etc.
     
  18. kimba88

    kimba88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    25th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    104
    Location:
    Sydney
    Oh wow, thanks for that. Maybe I should get another quote. It's not an urgent thing, so I dont know if I should bother. Would anybody else do this for their tenant or make them at least pay for some/all of it?