Need Help, feel that the Body Corporate is treating us poorly

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by Larry B, 3rd Aug, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Larry B

Larry B New Member

Hi All, I'm a complete newbie to this forum so I'm thanking anyone who can give me a guide as to what we can do next.

We live in Melbourne and have a property in Brisbane (Town House) part of 25 other Town Houses. Our dumb luck we were the ones that picked the property with the shady gum tree out the back. It was sold new to us.

For the past 7 years, we were led to believe that the tree belonged to us and that there was an injunction against cutting the tree down. This information was provided to us by the Body Corporate.

Last year after many other issues to do with building defects, we decided that we wanted to sell the property and move on.

No one wanted to buy the property because of the tree. So we approached the Brisbane City Council to get the approval, and their reply was "Sure! But you know the tree belongs to the Body Corporate, and you need their permission."

To cut a long story short, the BC refused to cut the tree down but gave us permission to chop it down at our cost. $5,500 later the tree came down.

The end result is that we got an offer on our property but during the post inspection sale, it was discovered that the upstairs balcony had been eaten away by white ants and was now no longer safe to use.

The cost of replacement is over $10,000 and although the BC has now dismissed the pest inspectors they will not accept any responsibility for the damage.

What are my options?
    My primary interest is getting the damage repaired.
    Do I have any recourse against the BC and if so, where do I start?

Many thanks.

LB

2. DaveM

DaveM Well-Known Member

As the balcony is part of the building it is generally on the owners corporation to maintain and repair it.

Larry B likes this.
  3. hobo