Need Advice

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Alex123711, 8th Mar, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Alex123711

Alex123711 Well-Known Member

I have been working fulltime for the last 10 years and always saved/ invested in stocks, I have looked at property many times over the years but always seemed overpriced to me (still think Sydney and Melbourne are) but I think now could be a good time for Brisbane, and want to make use of the borrowing power of property (compared to shares) while I'm still working (thinking of quitting/ travelling soon). Also shares are overpriced now imo. I haven't bought property before and am still renting, I am unsure what strategy to take as I would prefer to live in an apartment in inner city however I have looked at many different strategies and am interested in out of the box ideas also such as subdividing, share houses, airbnb etc. But haven't been able to make up my mind, any advice for my situation?

2. Property Twins

Property Twins Mortgage Brokers & Buyers Agents Business Member

Hi @Alex123711
    Sydney has always been expensive.

What is attracting you to property now?

What resources do you have to undertake the strategies you are after - in terms of deposits and borrowing capacity?

A number of our clients (Sydney and Melbourne) have been purchasing in Brisbane, as it has made sense from a rental return perspective, and also the fact that Brisbane hasn't had the same level of growth as Sydney. They have targeted properties in pockets which are zoned for future development - that is not to say that they will be developing, but rather land bank for the long term.

3. Alex123711

Thanks for the reply, as mentioned whats's attracting me is I think Brisbane looks ok for now, and also although I have done well with shares,the leverage of property is much more compared with shares.

4. Property Twins