Need advice on where to start

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by drclaire, 16th Feb, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. drclaire

drclaire New Member

Hi,
    I'm totally clueless about this....I'm having a school catchment zone issue, and am going to need to rent a studio or one bedroom in dulwich Hill (Sydney). It's just occurred to me to wonder if I would be better off buying something.
    I have no idea.
    I jdid the maths this morning and realised that if I have to, I can afford to rent somewhere tiny; $400X 6 months is 10k, and that's manageable for me even if it sits there empty ( not ideal)
    I work part time, and I'm still in training, so I don't earn a lot - about 60-70k, but that'll increase over time. I'm a doctor, So I gather there's some good home loan options.
    How do I work out if it's viable to buy a place?

Main issues would be that it'd be an investment property ( I rent - pretty sure I can't afford a place big enough for family), whether the incidental costs of doing it will be too painful, and whether it'd be worthwhile.
    I do not know where to even start figuring this out. Thanks for your help.

Lindsay_W likes this.
  2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

What is your school zone catchment issue, exactly? You want to be in a certain school catchment?

start with the basics. Savings. Mortgage broker to assess borrowing capacity. What / where you are willing to live in / not willing to live in. The compare this to the reality.

3. drclaire

drclaire New Member

Yep I want to be in a certain school catchment - high school, current zoned school is a disaster.. I don't need to physically live there, but do need an address there.
    I wouldn't move from where I am renting.

4. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Fraud is a bad starting point for anything.

focus on the future and do it correctly, especially given your profession.

5. Lindsay_W