Nail Gun - who has one?

Discussion in 'Renovation & Home Improvement' started by Allgood, 23rd Jun, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Allgood

Allgood Well-Known Member

Apologies if this is in the wrong thread...

I'm looking at purchasing a nail gun. I know there's a lot out there. It's not something that I would be using everyday but want one I can rely on.

From what I can see there's gas and the ones that run off a compressor. Bunnings have some for around the $350 mark (compressor fed) and around $600 for gas which are more portable.

In the short term I just wanted one to fix architraves and a few noggins. Maybe I should do it the old fashioned way.

Interested to hear your thoughts...

Allgood

2. bob shovel

bob shovel Well-Known Member

im no expert but believe paslode is the go but for your use perhaps the air one would do. you wont be climbing trusses with it. the hose would be annoying but better than the old fashioned way!

3. Arms

Arms Active Member

if you are only fixing small things then senco is the go for skirting ,noggings need a framing gun so two different guns . if low use get a basic pin nailer and basic framing gun .

WattleIdo likes this.
  4. Francesco

Francesco Well-Known Member

As Arms advised you basically need two guns. Nailing of skirting and architrave commonly requires brads. For frames and noggings a heavier duty gun is required to affix larger gauge and longer nails. Cost can be substantial including gun and collated nails. If you can afford only one gun, then probably get the heavier duty gun because it is most time consuming and difficult to try and put in a long nail. However, people have often successfully used portable driver guns to join frames and noggings with long screws.

I got my refurbished Paslode gas framing gun from Ebay. It works well. Air guns are cheaper but you need the compressor as well and the hose and noise can be more off putting and hazardous.