NAB Being Difficult with $152,000 Granny Flat Loan... ideas? Other banks for 81% LVR?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by DCO90, 12th Nov, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. DCO90

DCO90 Well-Known Member

Hi,

I'm building a $152,000 granny flat out the back of my PPOR (LOGAN, QLD). 11% yield - seems like a no-brainer to get funding for it....

I have PPOR + four other investment properties with Nab - currently about $1.1million in lending at just under 80% LVR. My portfolio is cash flow positive.

I've got the DA approved in June, and a builder lined up for March 2019.

In July, I put in an application through NAB, only to get knocked back - they'd only lend up to 80% LVR which was about $120,000 ($20-$30k short of what I need).... full build is about 81% LVR across my portfolio. To make up the cash is difficult as I'm a teacher (low-ish salary) so I need (/prefer for lifestyle reasons) to rely on equity.

Plan was to wait to November (now) and re-look about the application, but NAB is just screwing me around. So stupid, as it's around a $25k issue or a 1% LVR issue!

Even if the loan does go through, I'd probably be best to change banks due for future investment considerations - I'm looking for a bank who DOES allow >80% investment loans, considering my investments are cash flow positive.

I get that the findings of the Royal Commission are responsible for these difficulties - what are my options?

2. Property Twins

Property Twins Mortgage Brokers & Buyers Agents Business Member

Banks allow > 80% investment loans.

It may just be the borrowing capacity.

You will find some banks may cap the rental return as well (e.g. CBA allows a max of 6%).

Best speak to a broker who can review the entire portfolio to determine how to maximise your borrowing.

DCO90 likes this.
  3. Jess Peletier

Jess Peletier Mortgage Broker & Finance Strategy, Aus Wide! Business Member

Hello!