My Property Journey

Discussion in 'Investor Stories & Showcase' started by Investor_Scotty, 12th Jan, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Investor_Scotty

Investor_Scotty Well-Known Member

Hi All!

I'm starting a thread to share what I've learned on my property journey so far.

A bit about me...I'm a Senior Manager at a bank. I love stocks, property and just about anything that can generate wealth passively.

When selecting regions, I look for:
    i) Land scarcity: Land running out, either in the whole region or in the central part of the suburb where I'm buying.
    ii) Population: Region with a population minimum of 30,000.
    iii) Gentrification: Growing numbers of higher-paying jobs, new retail brands popping up etc.

Property qualities:
    i) Type: For most regions, I'll buy a 3 bedder/4 bedder house. For the inner ring of CBD's, a 2 bedder apartment is also fine.
    ii) Affordable: Typically under $500k but exceptions can be made. Property must be affordable relative to the medium wages of the region.
    iii) Condition: Looking for something run down that owner-occupiers can't fall in love with. Lots of room for immediate capital growth via renovations.
    iv) Good land component: Houses depreciate, land appreciates. Ideally, I want to pay market value for the land and get the house for free (or near-free).
    v) Good location: Near schools, public transport, shops and other amenities.

Property 1

So with that, I'll discuss property number 1 which my wife and I bought in 2020. This was a 2 bed/1 bath/1 car apartment in Pyrmont for $700k. 74 sqm interior plus a 12 sqm parking spot.

Initial specs:
    • Good location, near to cafes. Short walk to supermarkets (but you can get groceries delivered now). 15 min walk into CBD through Darling Harbour which is a nice walk/lots of restaurants.
    • The apartment has balcony views out into a little forest. Quite rare in the inner city.