QLD My investments in Rocky...

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Deepsquat, 21st Sep, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Deepsquat

Deepsquat Member

Hi guys,

Hoping for some advice if anyone can help.

I own 2 investment properties in gracemere, Rocky.

Im hindsight I purchased when the market was at its peak in 2014.

They are 3BR townhouses on very small blocks in a gated community. Its very well maintained , targetting FIFO.

Obviously the market isnt great and will stay flat for a while as I can understand.

The fees are really high to hold these properties, high BC, rates are $4k per year each and they are nearly fully mortgaged.

Im hoping to get some advice as to how I can best estimate my current and future position and a strategy for these properties. They have been losing big the past 18 months, hoping to decide whether to ride it out or take a hit now and try and sell etc

Im a novice invester and can now see the many errors I made .

Im Looking to move on and make it a learning experience but not wanting to make a further mistake and dump and run or stick it out too long with dud investments.

Any advice would be very greatly appreciated, many thanks :)

2. See Change

See Change Well-Known Member

Hard to know what to do , depends on what you can sell them for . I've bought in rocky before and may again but it's too early , even for me . Vacancies are high , lots sitting on the market so I haven't checked what happening in the local economy .

That would be a factor for me .

What is happening in the economy ?

How are the local businesses track ? Any new industries , investments , people buying farms etc ?

If there was signs of a recovery that might sway in favour of holding .