my first Ip questions

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Darlinghurst Boy, 6th Jul, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Darlinghurst Boy

Darlinghurst Boy Well-Known Member

Hopefully this is the right thread to write my post in, if not Mods please feel free to move it.

Im new to property investing and would be grateful of some opinions no matter how small.
    I am trying to learn but rely on you guys to help me out every now and again.

I have seen a Unit up on the NSW Central Coast for 279k , i am trying to work out figures and the reasons to buy it etc before i buy it.

So anyway i do have 350k saved up so i dont need to borrow.
    So if i buy the unit for say 270k add about stamp duty , conveyanyer etc will be about 285k all up.
    There is a tenant in there that pays $300 week rent.

My questions are
    1/ should i buy the unit outright with no lending?
    I will then have about 50k only left in life savings and wont have enough to put a deposit on another property but will be getting the rental income.

2/ what should i be seeking to achieve? Growth or rent income? Is $300 ok for investment of nearly 300k? Thats without real estate deductions though.
    Am i better off putting that 300k into a term deposit?
    Im hoping the unit goes over 300k in value by say 12 months?

4/ if i buy this unit by borrowing say 80 % of 270k would i buy be better off financially tax wise?

Would you buy it outright without borrowing?

2. WinDyz.

WinDyz. Well-Known Member

Hi There,

Firstly, do you have an income ? If you do my recommendation is to buy 2 IPs and leverage ~50% (If you're not comfortable with debt). This way not only the property should cover it's own expenses, you'll can also get some tax deductible from depreciation of your IP (so you pay less tax).