Mt Atkinson Victoria - new land release 6 Feb 2021 - Good option?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Ashjan, 6th Feb, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Ashjan

Ashjan Member

I am new to IP. I am looking at new release which just came out for Mt Atkinson in Victoria West. I am trying to understand if at following prices it could be a good purchase for now & build later. Also I am trying to understand what does "Double storey covenant" means and is it a good thing. I am looking to hold it for 3-5 years and sell for capital gain. Any inputs are welcome.
    Land prices examples:
    350m2 (12.5X28 - Regular block)- $341k
    312m2 (12.5X25 - regular block) - $269k

2. Westie

Westie Well-Known Member

Double storey covenant means you need to build a double storey dwelling on the block.

What size house are you looking at building? Actually, what sort of houses are already on the rental market? Speak with the local PMs in the area to find out what sort of product and config is most in demand.

Assuming you go with the smaller block, $269k plus stamps plus let's say $230k house on top is approx $510k or thereabouts. What sorta rent would the property achieve? You'd be negative a fair bit, will you be comfortable holding it?

Also, when does the block title?

I'm glad you're on the forum and researching. IMO, it's late for Mt Atkinson. They've been flogging blocks by saying the train station will be built soon. It's a long term plan, according to the Western Growth Corridor Plan, read here. Prices for blocks have this "proposed" station included already.

Finally, I think it'll be a slow burn for these areas. When the immigration tap is turned on full flow, there'll be some gains but then again a rising tide raises all boats.

3. Ashjan

Ashjan Member

Thanks a lot for sharing the info. Its very helpful.