Moving into Brisbane inner city

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by Noobieboy, 21st Aug, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Noobieboy

Noobieboy Well-Known Member

Hi all,

Sorry a newbie here. I am planning to buy my first IP in Brisbane. I am looking something I can easily rent to tenants for 2-3 years, with option to move there eventually myself (Sydney is way beyond my financial abilities). The main point is to buy somewhere I would be ok living once (and if) I move from Sydney, somewhere where there is less bogan (excuse the punt) and more urban, artisty environment. Being able to rent it out for few years at good yield is also an important variable.

I have heard a lot of good things about Coorparoo, Morningside and Greeslopes. With the view that there is a potential of apartment oversupply in the area, I am in two minds:

a) wait and buy a 2br appartment, with the view of the potential drop in prices due to oversupply
    b) buy a townhouse in the area and surrounds towards the end of this year (November).

Houses are beyond my price range. Any suggestions and ideas would be highly appreciated.

Pumpkin likes this.
  2. hammer

hammer Well-Known Member

Are you sure houses are beyond your price range?

3. Noobieboy

From what I seen they are around 800K... thats a bit too much :)

Whitecat likes this.
  4. RPI

RPI SDA Provider, Town Planner, Former Property Lawyer

I am a fan of that side of town. Morningside you can get some cheaper houses. Coorparoo has large older style units in abundance.

KayTea and 733 like this.
  5. ORAC

ORAC Well-Known Member

When you say "inner Brisbane", will assume you mean the inner 5km ring or so. The good thing about Brisbane, is that generally all the suburbs in that 5km ring (stretch to say 6km / 7km are good).