Moving from Commtrade to NABtrade

Discussion in 'Sharemarket Investing Platforms, Tools & Services' started by Orion, 21st Sep, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Orion

Orion Well-Known Member

Hi all - I'm a complete newbie when it comes to direct share ownership.

My question is, let's say I create a Commtrade account and use this to buy 100x Telstra shares. Within my Commtrade account I assume I can log in and see 'Telstra shares = 100' (or whatever the current value is).

Then, let's say I have had enough Commtrade, and want to use NABtrade to buy/sell/manage my shares.

When I go and create an account on NABtrade, do I need to enter that I own 100 worth of Telstra shares? Or do I own the 100 Telstra shares within my Commbank share account, which I would need to transfer out of CBA into NAB, similar to a bank account?

Which then raises the question, why would anyone own any significant amount of shares within a non-rock solid institution like one of the Big 4? How would the smaller guys compete? And, can you 'take' the shares out and own them yourself (not have them in any account, like hold onto the shareholding certificate or similar?)

Pretty basic questions I know :) Thanks.

2. Redwing

Redwing Well-Known Member

Dean Collins and The Y-man like this.
  3. Cadbury99

Cadbury99 Well-Known Member

4. The Y-man

The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

5. Dean Collins

Dean Collins Well-Known Member

Yep you would "transfer shares" from one trading platform to another.

I don't hold shares in Australia apart from Super etc, but I can tell you from my experience in dealing with trading platforms here in the USA its very easy for someone "to compete with the big 4".

Wait until you have invested for a while and you'll understand its the software/trading platform nd execution that makes the difference.