Mortgage Broking Business

Discussion in 'Starting & Running a Business' started by CryptoClown, 29th Apr, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. CryptoClown

CryptoClown Well-Known Member

Hi wasn't sure if anyone could help. I have my Diploma In Mortgage Broking as I planned to add it to my business a few years back. What was holding me back was doing the mandatory 6 months training whilst I had other things to do so alas it got put on permanent hold.

I've recently had the opportunity to partner with a real estate business and was considering adding a mortgage broker to the partnership via my company. I was hoping I could be the Director and employ a full time experienced mortgage broker. Obviously they would work their magic as I have no formal training and my role would largely be client sourcing, paying bills if failing and adding the current businesses administrator to assist with the broker admin.

My understanding is that if the broker were to leave we wouldn't be able to continue to operate unless we had another qualified broker. Does anyone see any compliance issues or nay other factors that could be problematic? I'm well aware starting a broker firm from scratch with a fulltime employee is risky but going by the referrer leads from last year it will be sustainable and the ability to grow is there.

2. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

You need to have prior industry experience or work under a a mentor for 2 years before you can work on your own. You can operate your own business under these arrangements, but you need the mentoring agreement to be in place.

3. Morgs

Morgs Well-Known Member Business Member

Some of the challenges I can see that you'd need to work through:
    • Who are you going to get for the role? What is the value proposition for them? How will you engage and retain them over the long term?