Business Banking & Finance Mortgage broker - need advice for the right direction

Discussion in 'Starting & Running a Business' started by PropertyInsight, 9th Jul, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. PropertyInsight

PropertyInsight Well-Known Member

I think of becoming independent mortgage broker and I am seeking your advice if it is the right choice.

My background is accounting/finance (5 years) and IT industry (20 years). I have been working n the IT industry for the last 20 years and step up to the management ladder. Now I am planning to become independent mortgage broker because of the following reasons:

Reasons for change

1. Have more flexible working hours to look after the family and more time to do the interstate IP renovations in the next 3 years.
    2. High rewards if the business is successful
    3. Quit the current IT job whose technologies change every 3 months. I am getting old and slow to catch up with the latest technologies.

Challenges
    Drop the income. Mortgage broker does not make much money in the 1st years. I am a high earner, $150K/year, to cover the existing mortgage of 4 IPs.

Questions

1. As a mortgage broker, how much do I likely to earn in the next 3 years if I work hard and focus on the business? What the chance for me to earn the same as or above the current job.

2. What are the most challenges for new mortgage brokers?

newrich likes this.
  2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

How will you get clients?

I made $12,000 in my first 12 months.

Wukong likes this.
  3. PropertyInsight

In the 1st 12 month, mainly get referring from friends, real estate agents (friends),
    Long term, referring from past clients and digital marketing.

4. Terry_w

You will need something more than this!
    The referrals will be few and far between. Family - some will use you but others won't want you seeing their private financial situation.