Mortgage and house help!!

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Sunnycoast, 8th Feb, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Sunnycoast

Sunnycoast Well-Known Member

Hey people,
    I've been browsing on here for a couple of months now and it's great to find somewhere with useful info. Firstly, I just want to give you some insight into myself and my position, and then maybe someone can provide me with some help. Thank you in advance to anyone who replies to this thread!

At the end of the year, I will have approx 110-115k for a deposit, stamp duty and legals for a house. I will not be a high-income earner, as I am doing some studies at uni this year on the Sunshine Coast but living in Brisbane and will be teaching full-time next year (starting on approx 70k). I would like to know roughly what my loan potential would be so I understand my budget. Also, I plan to buy a house and live in it for 12 months so that it is my PPOR and then go rural to teach. This would mean that I will pay barely any rent when I'm gone (maybe 50-100 p/week). While I am gone I would rent the house out and throw my money at it also so that I can minimise the debt. I would be going away for approx 2-5 years unless I do not want to come back or something else in life changes my path. I want to choose somewhere that will get me some capital gains in case I ever choose to sell the property. Since I won't be earning a fantastic wage but I do have a reasonable deposit, I am a bit unsure of what price range I should look at. I feel that 550-600k would be good, but I understand that I need 20% deposit to avoid LMI?