Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community

mobile phone swype typing

Discussion in 'Help & Feedback' started by bob shovel, 19th Jun, 2015.

  1. bob shovel

    bob shovel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    5,382
    Location:
    Somewhere in the land of Oz
    not sure if this phone or forum related.
    i could swype to type for thread title but in text box here its all one letter at atime
     
  2. Brady

    Brady Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    461
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    Thought this was about tinder
     
  3. Simon Hampel

    Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    3rd Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    1,650
    Location:
    Sydney
    Not sure - perhaps it's the editor being used?

    I did see some mentions of issues with Swype and some JavaScript based editors, but it seemed to be something from a while ago which is no longer a problem.

    Would be interested if you could try it on a different phone to see if it still causes problems.
     
  4. bob shovel

    bob shovel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    5,382
    Location:
    Somewhere in the land of Oz
    anyone else having issues on the mobile phone
     
  5. bob shovel

    bob shovel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    5,382
    Location:
    Somewhere in the land of Oz
    is anyone else having issues? dont have another phone to cjeck on just yet.

    another issue is that i cannot use the copy/paste text selection in the post dialogue box
    also when i have typed passed a certain amount of lines if i move the cursor to the top to fix something i cannot get it back to the bottom, it will only come down so far.

    im on a sg2, is it a phone issue.
    something similsr happened on the seek.com.au app typing and swyping and the re.com.au app. but works on others fine
     
  6. Kinnon Bell

    Kinnon Bell Finance Broker

    Joined:
    14th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    475
    Location:
    Cairns
    I was having issues typing on my phone here the other day and thought it was just my phone playing up. Maybe it wasn't?

    Phone was a HTC M8 (or was it Sony Z2 - can't remember what phone I was using).
     
  7. DanW

    DanW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    26th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    400
    Location:
    Sydney
    I'm having lots of issues, the autocomplete from the Swiftkey keyboard.

    When typing it sometimes doubles up the word, or totally messes up the post.

    The only way around it is at the end of the word I switch my keyboard to Chinese, then back to english and it then posts the word ok.
     
  8. Simon Hampel

    Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    3rd Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    1,650
    Location:
    Sydney
    @bob shovel are you still having performance problems when writing posts? I did upgrade the forum software last week with a new version which supposedly addressed some performance issues - but your problem sounds much more serious than the ones addressed by the update.
     
  9. bob shovel

    bob shovel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    5,382
    Location:
    Somewhere in the land of Oz
    @Sim i now just press the spanner before i start typing. That gives me Swype function plus text selection, copy/paste
     
  10. bob shovel

    bob shovel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    5,382
    Location:
    Somewhere in the land of Oz
    Perhaps wait to see if anyone else is having similar issues, it may just be my phone. I can keep using the spanner gizmo.
    @Kinnon Bell were you having a similar issue?
     
  11. Simon Hampel

    Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    3rd Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    1,650
    Location:
    Sydney
    I think Kinnon's issues are different to yours - hers is a known problem for Sony Z2 phones and relates to word-doubling with autocorrect when using the Swiftkey keyboard.
     
  12. bob shovel

    bob shovel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    5,382
    Location:
    Somewhere in the land of Oz
    Ah yeah that's right.
    See if anyone else comes along. I'm due for a new phone
     
  13. Simon Hampel

    Simon Hampel Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    3rd Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    1,650
    Location:
    Sydney
    Don't get a Sony Z2 :p
     
  14. bob shovel

    bob shovel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    5,382
    Location:
    Somewhere in the land of Oz
    Z2's!! My wife dropped her z2 last night, goner! Cracked the front and now doesn't work. You tube and onto Ebay for parts... and I'll get the big hammer out