Melbournite in Brisbane

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by fleathedog, 13th Jul, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. fleathedog

fleathedog Well-Known Member

Hi all,

I grew up in Melbourne and moved up to Brisbane for work 3 years ago. Now I'm 34 and got a chunk of cash in my bank account, so my mind turned to property. I have a postgrad degree in finance and work for an energy company, but very little of what I studied, and obviously none of my work experience, relates to property.

My goal is to build a portfolio of 4-5 properties (inc my PPOR) over the next 10~ years, and I'm currently looking for my first. Just in the hour or so I've found so much great info on this site, so I can't wait to get stuck in!

Mavis, samiam, MTR and 2 others like this.
  2. Greyghost

Greyghost Well-Known Member

What has your ego, sorry education got to do with your investment prospects? Dip deep and read up mate..

3. Jamie Moore

Jamie Moore MORTGAGE BROKER - AUSTRALIA WIDE Business Member

Hi and welcome aboard

How do you find the change living up north? Curious because I'm from Canberra and just got back from holidays on the sunshine coast and tempted to take a permanent holiday up in qld :)

Cheers

Jamie

Pumpkin likes this.
  4. fleathedog

Cheers Jamie. My decision was purely career motivated. Brisbane is a great city and certainly has it's charms, but I love Melbourne and will probably move back there some day...

That said, living in inner city Brisbane is actually not so different to living in inner city Melbourne. I miss the food more than anything. Melbourne really is a special place for going out. The other main difference is obviously the weather. Personally, I'd swap Melbourne winter for Brisbane summer any day of the week!