Melbourne SE - subdivision newbie

Discussion in 'Development' started by Ash107, 9th Oct, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Ash107

Ash107 Member

Hello - what are the steps to subdividing a property?

I'm looking to buy a ppor which apparantly has subdivision potential (townhouse at the back). As you can tell, I'm totally new to this.

Ideally, I would live in the house; maybe sell the land at the back if I needed cash down the line (ie backup plan); or, I'd build a townhouse and rent it out as an IP.

What are the first steps to take? The lots I've seen look fairly standard - driveway down the side, a chunk of 300/400ish sqm's at the back, etc. What's the first step I should take before buying the property? Getting advice from a town planner? Land surveyor? Would really appreciate your advice!

Edit to add: not really in a rush to build/sell at the back, but I want to be sure it's possible before proceeding with the ppor purchase. Trying to attach a picture to show the kind of generic property I'm looking into. Hopefully I'm on the right track.

Edit 2: Also, can anyone recommend any Melbourne-based professionals?

Last edited: 9th Oct, 2015
  2. Ash107

Ash107 Member

This is the kind of property with subdivision potential I'm looking into. w800-h600-w611-h800-2012228917_11_fi_150902_124609.gif

3. GoOnAndTell

GoOnAndTell Well-Known Member

The council will control a lot of it.

Learn the 'language' so you can ask questions and figure out where you plan to play and start asking the question.

What council are you looking in?

4. 380

380 Well-Known Member

@Ash107

Check the zoning of land and overlays(if any) and existing tress (arborist report)

Best to spend couple of hundred $$$ in pre-purchase report.

Zoning and Basic property development guide is on our website.(link is in sigt)

5. Jeffb

Jeffb Well-Known Member

I assume you are looking Kingston?