Melbourne or Canberra for an investment in 2017?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Mcube, 13th May, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Mcube

Mcube Well-Known Member

Hi All,
    I am a newbie to property invesment. I have been thinking whether I should invest in Melbourne or Canberra this year considering Melbourne properties have gone up a lot recently. So, wondering it has peaked yet? Canberra prices are rising but not the same pace as Melbourne. I have a PPOR in Canberra and an IP in Brisbane. Any advice would be appreciated!

2. strongy1986

strongy1986 Well-Known Member

Just buy in a city/ town that hasnt done much and be patient
    Chasing the herd around wont get you anywhere

Jamie Moore likes this.
  3. Mcube

Mcube Well-Known Member

Yup, I plan to buy within 30km to Melbourne Cbd. Just looking around springvale, williams landing suburbs. What do you think of those areas?

4. Jamie Moore

Jamie Moore MORTGAGE BROKER - AUSTRALIA WIDE Business Member

What's your budget?

Cheers

Jamie

5. Mcube

Mcube Well-Known Member

My budget is around $590k. Not sure what suburbs will be good in Melbourne for that budget range for a house.

6. The Y-man

The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

7. Mcube

Mcube Well-Known Member

Thank you. @The Y-man I have also been thinking whether a house within 30km of Melbourne CBD would have a better capital growth than a townhouse within 10km of CBD? Which suburbs would you suggest for a townhouse within my budget?

8. The Y-man

You'd have a pretty major choice of townhouses/villas in the north (say reservoir, bundoora, kingsbury) or inner west (Maidstone, Footscray).

Would it better than a house in say Dandenong? Hard to say - I'd probably err to a house if you can find one on a block bigger than 600 sqm (the magic number in Melb).

The Y-man

9. S1mon

S1mon Well-Known Member

Thats a crystall ball type question...

Who knows...(no one).