Maximum Borrowing Capacity

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by PRD_85, 7th Jan, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. PRD_85

PRD_85 Well-Known Member

Hi all,
    New member to Property Chat! Loving it so far.

I was just wondering if there was a way to work out my TOTAL maximum borrowing capacity? I am currently in my 1st year of real estate so my income structure is base + commission, but the base is quite low because of the commission structure.

I understand how to work out my borrowing capacity from one bank, but is there a way to work out my TOTAL borrowing capacity (assuming I go to a different bank for a new loan for every new acquisition)?

Let's assume, for arguments sake, the 1st IP is a perfectly neutrally geared asset, so it has no bearing on my income or expenditure position.

Kind regards,
    Paul

2. Coota9

Coota9 Well-Known Member

@Paul D

In the current lending environment the best advice I can give is speak to a few different Brokers so they can work with you to see what is possible...

3. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

Hi @Paul D welcome to the forum!

With a commission based salary that's only been in place for less than one financial year, it's going to be difficult to take advantage of your full income for borrowing purposes. Lenders don't take any of your income at face value and the challenge with commissions/bonus/overtime is they want to see hard evidence of consistency over an extended period of time.

Ignore the borrowing calculators on the banks websites, they're useless for two reasons. (a) They don't actually reflect the banks actual lending policies and (b) even if they are accurate, it's unlikely you'll enter accurate information that reflects the banks policies. These calculators are a marketing tool, designed to get you to get in touch and commit to them.