Maximising Tax Deductibility - Offset vs Investment Loan

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by LaoBan, 5th Oct, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. LaoBan

LaoBan Well-Known Member

Hi,

I am a newbie in terms of investing in general, and seeking advice and guidance in regards to maximising tax deductiblity.
    My current situation is as follows.

• Marginal tax income 37% + 2% Medicare levy = 39%
    • PPOR home loan at 3.92% Interest Only - with 100% offset account
    (the plan is to make this an IP in ~10 years time or sell, hence interest only)

• IP loan at 4.19% Interest Only

In addition to property loans above, I also have an Investment loan account at 4.2% Interest Only. This acts kind of like line-of-credit (LOC), except it is normal fully-drawn investment loan, which was setup initially with 150k balance.
    It was setup to be used only for investing purposes (property and/or shares).

As part of the investment loan setup, I received 85k of equity from my PPOR, which I subsequently transferred the whole amount to the investment loan (so that the balance became 65k). I then put 65k to the investment loan account from my offset, so that I didn't pay interest while waiting to find where to invest.

I then used 65k from the investment loan to purchase an IP (deposit, legal costs, etc), and all the IP-related expenses (maintenance/repairs, council rates, etc) are paid from this account so they can be tax deductible.

Also, currently, I pay the interest incurred from the IP loan from my offset account, which is linked to PPOR home loan.

My questions:

1. Would I be better off to pay the IP loan's interest from my investment loan account (rather than from offset account)?

If I do this, does it mean that I can claim both interest from the IP loan AND the interest from the investment loan (incurred by the amount used to pay the interest incurred from the IP loan) as tax deductions?