Making money from something free?

Discussion in 'Starting & Running a Business' started by albanga, 12th Jul, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. albanga

albanga Well-Known Member

Hey All,
    I have posted a few times about my hobby website which I have been slowly developing over the past couple of years.

I am not a developer myself but have a friend doing it for very low cost. It’s still not what I would call publicly ready but it’s finally not to far off.

I have many ideas to commercialize it as a paid concept but the one that resonates the most with me (and is legally the easiest) is just giving it to the public for free. Without going into too much detail it’s a site built around sports tipping in a style not done before. I actually know a number of people who operate similar concepts using spreadsheets so I want to be the person to deliver them a free platform to do it.

Now I know I’m likely getting ahead of myself as I currently have 100 members only (mostly friends) but thought I would ask anyway as it could play into some ideas and direction with future development.

So what’s ideas and guidance could anyone provide. I think of this very forum which is mostly free with a small fee to business members. But surely the forum operators are making money in other ways?

thanks in advance

2. Joynz

Joynz Well-Known Member

I expect that site will be receiving money from the ads at the top of the screen.

3. albanga

Yeah I know about banner ads but the click through rate is about 0.00000000002%.
    And for what I would consider to be somewhat clever users, I don't imagine they would have made much (if anything) via these?

I could be totally wrong though and I guess thats why I'm asking :)
    @Simon Hampel care to enlighten a total novice :)

4. TMNT

TMNT Well-Known Member

years ago, I tried/trialled one of those horse betting/tipping softwares which give you tips and overall you come out in front,