Health & Family Losing weight

Discussion in 'Living Room' started by Lacrim, 27th Apr, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Lacrim

Lacrim Well-Known Member

Well I'm trying to pursue a 6 pack (again).

30 days into a 1500 cal diet which is 500 calories short of maintenance (2,000 cals). Been mostly good - have a day here and day there where I consume up to 1800/1900 cals. Reasonably strong willpower it's easy to fail when you're hungry and I also WFH so that doesn't help.

Current weight is 75kg....looking to get down to 68kg / 10% bodyfat. 178cm tall. Guess is that I'm currently about 18% bodyfat (in the morning haha). Haven't done a pinch test. Weights only, no cardio but average 10-15,000 incidental steps a day.

Long story short is I've lost about 1.5kg in 30 days (hopefully fat not water). It's a slow grind as I'm not technically overweight, but getting shredded is HARD!

For those in the know eg @Ace in the Hole, if I keep up the deficit for say another 4-6 months, will my body adapt and nullify gains by slowing my metabolism?

2. geoffw

geoffw Moderator Staff Member

I'm trying to get down below obese.

So far I've lost 5kg in 5 weeks. Breakfast and dinner are cut down a little in size, and I'm being more careful of fat and sugar - not least because my wife has a condition where her body can't take fat. I'm doing a man shake instead of lunch, and I've almost eliminated snacks.

It's been almost 10 years since I've had any alcohol.

Last edited: 27th Apr, 2022
    JacM, Gladys, TheRons and 6 others like this.
  3. Ace in the Hole

Ace in the Hole Well-Known Member

Firstly, why do you want a 6 pack and what will it do for you?
    I’m pretty sure that most people who have long term 6 packs don’t work on their 6 packs, it’s a result not a destination.
    A 500 calorie deficit is a good amount to stick with, stay with it and see how it goes.