Looking for suggestion & advise

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Sparkles_zap, 16th Oct, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Sparkles_zap

Sparkles_zap New Member

Hi guys,

I am relatively new to the propertychat forums. I am looking for some advise.

My wife and I have duo income with no children, both in our early 30's.

Our goal:

In 10 years time, to be able to generate 60K after tax passive income so we are financially independent

Our situation:
    - Duo income household earning about 120K after tax.
    - We have 2 IP's:
    > 1 fully paid off @ 259K. Currently rented out for 296/week (all fees already deducted). This was our PPOR and 1st home. We have since moved and so treating it as an IP now
    > Another one with 305K homeloan on a 410k IP. Currently rented out for 328/week (all fees already deducted). Currently at 3.99% 2 years fix interest rate - only recently signed

- We are paying 380/week for rental
    - Family has a 60K/year expenditure. Basically we will have 60K savings per year
    - 170K in our saving account

What we are doing next:
    - Purchase our PPOR max. 550K - possibly getting an off-the-plan townhouse to save on stamp-duty
    - Commit to another positively geared IP, looking at the Melbourne CBD apartment, possibly 280K homeloan on 350K 2 bedroom apartment. It can be rented out for 350/week (all fees deducted)

I have done some quick calculation and the way we are going, it just doesn't look like we will be able to achieve what we want in 10 years.

Do you think we are doing the right things? What will you do if you are in our situation?

Thanks.
    SZ

2. jazzsidana

jazzsidana Well-Known Member

Grats mate, done well overall by paying off investment property and having decent money in savings account!..

In terms of next purchase, don't like the idea at all off buying off the plan or apartment in Melbourne CBD..