Looking for help/First time investment buyer & poster

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Funbags2060, 29th Dec, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Funbags2060

Funbags2060 New Member

Hey Guys
    I'm extremely new to this so please forgive me if I am asking basic/stupid questions

So recently I bought my ex-partner out from the property we had a mortgage with together, so my name is on it solo. I have the good fortune of moving in with family for now, and paying minimal rent etc. I am turning the house we used to own together into a rental property, and am able to save extra money while the mortgage is paid by the tenants and I am able to live relatively expense free. I'm wanting to enter the world of investment properties, and I'm just wondering if anyone had any advice of what to do next. Obviously I will be starting to save money for a future deposit, but is there any other possible advice you could give.

Thankyou so much in advance!

Jess Peletier likes this.
  2. Jess Peletier

Jess Peletier Mortgage Broker & Finance Strategy, Aus Wide! Business Member

Hey and welcome to the forums!

Having a chat with an investment savvy broker about your goals and plans will be a good first step - they can make sure your existing loan is structured correctly and help you understand the best way to set things up moving forward.

3. skater

skater Well-Known Member

@Jess Peletier is correct that you should consider how your loans are structured, and to make sure that you have an offset attached to at least one loan, so that your savings reduce your interest payments, but don't affect the integrity of the loan.

I'd suggest you organise to get a Property Manager, Landlord Insurance. Before you engage a PM, ask here for recommendations. Someone might already be using a great PM in the area. Speak to the PM about what you might receive in rental payments, and if there is anything that needs improving.