Looking for costing converting laundry to bedroom and bathroom/kitchen reno

Discussion in 'Renovation & Home Improvement' started by couq, 21st May, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. couq

couq Well-Known Member

Hi I am looking to purchase a 2 bedroom house on 500 sqm. I have no renovation experience but would love to learn as this will be our PPOR after investing in 2 properties. (both unrenovated). I also have no experience renovating but happy to learn!

It's a simple setup with 2 bedroom, bathroom, kitchen, lounge, dining and laundry
    The laundry is actually an ok size with an attached toilet.

I was thinking possible of converting laundry to 3rd bedroom and moving or building laundry near garage.
    Is this possible or easy to do? Would I need council approval if in existing walls?

Also wanting to renovate bathroom and kitchen to modern standards but have no idea as first time. This will be a PPOR as it is what we can afford and still keep existing investment property.

My questions:

To renovate bathroom with pictures inside and with minimal knowledge what should I cost to it? I am happy to do a bit of handy work but am not really handy myself. What would be costs? Thinking to paint tiles, new vanity (possibly remove toilet although having two is great), new bathtub and shower screen. I have heard with a bit of help it can be done for $15000

Also the kitchen would need a bit of renovating. What would this cost for simple laminate, new modern cupboards, dishwasher and oven. Again not looking for amazing finishes just more modern. I have read about bunnings packages and Ikea benchtops. Would like to keep it also to $15000. Is this achievable?

Thanks. Am really looking to buy this house but wanting to know if its worth it or should look to get something with an extra room but cost +$50000.

Attached Files:

2. housechopper2

housechopper2 Well-Known Member