Long post full of noob questions related to tax residency

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by Polish Dumpling, 9th Oct, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Polish Dumpling

Polish Dumpling Member

Hello everyone,

I've been researching a bit, and it looks like owning a property in Australia while being absent from the country is a bit of a tax minefield. I'm trying to work out if I should be buying a property at all. I think I've worked out that the "6 year rule" as of today solves the issue. But I would appreciate if someone could comment on my assumptions/questions (as of today I'm an Australian tax resident and also a citizen). Also, my apologies, the list is pretty long :D
    But here it is:
    1. As far as I understand if I'm living a life of a digital nomad (just traveling around the world without sticking around in any particular place for longer than a few months), then I'm not losing my Australian tax residency. Even if the time I spend abroad is pretty long (say, a few years). Is that correct?
    2. Even if I'm employed by an overseas company, as long as I don't establish a permanent home overseas, I'm still going to be an Australian resident for tax purposes. Is that correct?
    3. If I get a job in another country, and settle there for a couple of years, I lose my Australian tax residency and become a tax resident of that other country. Is that right?
    4. In the scenario from question 3, how long my stay needs to be to lose the Australian tax residency? Does it basically depend on how soon I become a tax resident of that other country?
    5. Can I lose my Australian tax residency before I become a tax resident of another country?
    6. If I lose Australian tax residency, then all the income/losses related to the investment property are going be collected by the country where I become a resident for tax purposes. Right? Or is it still going to be payable/claimable in Australia?