VIC Location and budget questions. Total newbie.

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by BPD, 26th Jun, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. BPD

BPD Member

Hi there,

My wife and I are looking at purchasing a home in the next few years. We’re total rookies and don’t really know what to expect. But I have a few initial questions about location and what to budget for.

- We make around 110-130k income yr
    - Have around 30k debt that we’d pay off before approaching lenders
    - Not sure how much we could afford but we're looking at Bon Beach or Footscray for our first home (we’d live in it).
    - Kids on the menu in a few years I suppose.
    - My parents have generously offered to be guarantors for a loan - but they live abroad (NZ) any reason this wouldn’t work for us?

Just wanting to know what you’d guys recommend in terms of budget and what we could realistically expect to purchase without breaking the bank. We’re thinking at least a 2 bedder townhouse/unit. Prefer by the beach but not sold on this. I don’t mind 30-40mins train commute to the city for work.

Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks in advance guys.

Cheers,

2. BPD

BPD Member

Hi there,

My wife and I are looking at purchasing a home in the next few years. We’re total rookies and don’t really know what to expect. But I have a few initial questions about location and what to budget for.

- We make around 110-130k income yr
    - Have around 30k debt that we’d pay off before approaching lenders
    - Not sure how much we could afford but we're looking at Bon Beach or Footscray for our first home (we’d live in it).
    - Kids on the menu in a few years I suppose.
    - My parents have generously offered to be guarantors for a loan - but they live abroad (NZ) any reason this wouldn’t work for us?